The four founders of AAGL, pictured left to right at the inaugural International Congress on Gynecologic Laparoscopy in 1972 is Jacques E. Rioux, Louis G. Keith, Jordan M. Phillips, and Richard M. Soderstrom.


Past Presidents


Jordan M. Phillips 1971 – 1976

Dr. Phillips founded the AAGL in 1971 to help organize the research and development that led to the first minimally invasive gynecologic procedures. He served as Chairman for 29 years and helped build the AAGL into the foremost, internationally recognized organization specializing in minimally invasive gynecology that it is today. Known as a visionary and a humanitarian, his impact on the field has been felt across the globe from physicians and residents to the patients they serve.

Mauricio Abrao2022
Ted T.M. Lee2021Ronald L. Levine1998
Jubilee Brown2020Mark W. Surrey1997
Marie Fidela R. Paraiso2019Anthony A. Luciano1996
Gary Frishman2018Barbara S. Levy1995
Jon I. Einarsson2016-2017‡Harrith M. Hasson1994
Arnold P. Advincula2015-2016Brian M. Cohen1993
Ceana H. Nezhat2014‡Robert B. Hunt1992
Javier F. Magrina2013Dan C. Martin1991
Keith B. Isaacson2012Rafael F. Valle1990
Linda D. Bradley2011‡John M. Esposito1989
C.Y. Liu2010‡Donald L. Chatman1988
Resad P. Pasic2009John L. Marlow1987
Charles E. Miller2008Franklin D. Loffer1986
Grace M. Janik2007A. Albert Yuzpe1985
Richard J. Gimpelson2006‡Carl J. Levinson1984
G. David Adamson2005‡Alvin M. Siegler1983
Andrew I. Brill2004Stephen L. Corson1982
D. Alan Johns2003Philip G. Brooks1981
David L. Olive2002‡Jaroslav F. Hulka1980
‡Jay M. Cooper2001‡Louis G. Keith1979
William H. Parker2000‡Jacques E. Rioux1978
Victor Gomel1999Richard M. Soderstrom1977

Honorary Members

The following individuals have been recognized as Honorary Members of the AAGL in recognition for their contributions to the field of minimally invasive gynecology:

Leila V. Adamyan, M.D.†Jaroslav F. Hulka, M.D.†Kurt Semm, M.D.
†Maurice A. Bruhat, M.D.†Ian Johnston, M.D.†Patrick Steptoe, M.D.
Ettore Cittadini, M.D.†Richard Kleppinger, M.D.†Kurt Swolin, M.D.
†Martin J. Clyman, M.D.†Hans J. Lindemann, M.D.†William J. Winchester, D.V.M.
†Melvin R. Cohen, M.D.Nargesh D. Motashaw, M.D.†Carl Wood, M.D.
†Albert Decker, M.D.†William Norment, M.D.Peter J. Maher
†Hans Frangenheim, M.D.†Raoul Palmer, M.D.Ronald L. Levine
Victor Gomel, M.D.Harry Reich, M.D.
†H.H. Hopkins, M.D.†Maxwell Roland, M.D.

Annual Global Congress

AAGL Global Congress History

Years Scientific Chair Honorary Chair Location
2022Andrew I. SokolCharles E. MillerAurora, Colorado
2021Maurcio S. AbrãoThomas L. LyonsAustin, Texas
1972†Jordan M. Phillips†Hans FrangenheimLas Vegas, Nevada
1973†Jordan M. Phillips†Raoul PalmerNew Orleans, Louisiana
1974Louis G. Keith†Melvin R. CohenAnaheim, California
1975Louis G. Keith†W.R. DukelowLas Vegas, Nevada
1976Richard M. Soderstrom†Harriet Pilpel & Ann-Marie Doulen RolliAtlanta, Georgia
1977†Jacques E. Rioux†Raoul PalmerSan Francisco, California
1978†Louis G. Keith†Patrick C. SteptoeHollywood, Florida
1979†Jaroslav F. Hulka†Raoul PalmerNew Orleans, Louisiana
1980Philip G. Brooks†Lars WestromLas Vegas, Nevada
1981†Stephen L. Corson10th AnniversaryPhoenix, Arizona
1982†Alvin M. Siegler†Jacques E. HamouSan Diego, California
1983†Carl J. Levinson†Edward E. WallachWashington, D.C.
1984A. Albert Yuzpe†Raymond H. KaufmanLas Vegas, Nevada
1985Franklin D. Loffer†Keith BetteridgeAnaheim, California
1986†John L. MarlowAlan H. DeCherneyOrlando, Florida
1987Harry Reich†Patrick C. SteptoeSan Francisco, California
1988†John M. Esposito†Melvin R. CohenDallas, Texas
1989Rafael F. ValleRichard H. SchwartzWashington, D.C.
1990Dan C. MartinMichael S. BaggishOrlando, Florida
1991†Robert B. Hunt20th AnniversaryLas Vegas, Nevada
1992Brian M. CohenPatrick J. TaylorChicago, Illinois
1993†Harrith M. Hasson†Maurice A. Bruhat, Harry Reich, & †Kurt SemmSan Francisco, California
1994Barbara S. LevyGlenn M. Preminger & Richard M. SatavaNew York, New York
1995Anthony A. LucianoThe Journal of the AAGLOrlando, Florida
1996Mark W. Surrey†Melvin R. CohenChicago, Illinois
1997Ronald L. LevineEttore CittadiniSeattle, Washington
1998Victor GomelDenis QuerleuAtlanta, Georgia
1999Philip G. BrooksLeila V. AdamyanLas Vegas, Nevada
2000†Jay M. Cooper†Robert S. NeuwirthOrlando, Florida
2001†David L. Olive†Jordan M. PhillipsSan Francisco, California
2002D. Alan Johns†Robert B. HuntMiami, Florida
2003Andrew I. BrillRonald L. LevineLas Vegas, Nevada
2004G. David Adamson†Jay M. CooperSan Francisco, California
2005Richard J. GimpelsonRafael F. ValleChicago, Illinois
2006Grace M. JanikHarry ReichLas Vegas, Nevada
2007Charles E. MillerChristopher J.G. SuttonWashington, D.C.
2008Resad P. PasicBrian M. CohenLas Vegas, Nevada
2009C.Y. LiuCamran R. NezhatOrlando, Florida
2010Linda D. BradleyLisolette MettlerLas Vegas, Nevada
2011Keith B. IsaacsonBarbara S. LevyHollywood, Florida
2012Javier F. MagrinaWilliam H. ParkerLas Vegas, Nevada
2013Ceana H. NezhatC.Y. LiuNational Harbor, Maryland
2014Arnold P. AdvinculaFarr R. NezhatVancouver, B.C., Cana
2015Jon Ivar EinarssonJohn F. SteegeLas Vegas, Nevada
2016Kevin J.E. Stepp45th AnniversaryOrlando, Florida
2017Sawsan As-SanieArnaud WattiezNational Harbor, Maryland
2018Marie Fidela R. Paraiso†Stephen L. CorsonLas Vegas, Nevada
2019Jubilee BrownBarbara S. LevyVancouver, B.C., Canada
2020Ted T.M. LeeResad P. PasicVirtual Meeting